PNP SAF Commemorates 37th Founding Anniversary, Renews Commitment to the Service

PGEN ARCHIE FRANCISCO F GAMBOA, Chief, PNP graced the 37th Founding Anniversary of the PNP Special Action Force led by PMGEN AMANDO CLIFTON B EMPISO, Director, SAF through a modified and virtual ceremony in observance of the new normal and in consideration of the health and safety protocols on the COVID-19 pandemic. The said activity was conducted today, May 16, 2020 at Headquarters SAF, Camp Bagong Diwa, Bicutan, Taguig City and viewed by all SAF Troopers through live streaming via SAF’s Facebook page with this year’s theme, “37 Years of Heroism and Service to the People.

The start of the celebration kicked off with a virtual Thanksgiving Mass officiated by PLTCOL RONIE B ARONG from PNP Chaplain Service followed by the anniversary program highlighted by the virtual recognition of outstanding individuals, units and stakeholders of the unit for Calendar Year 2019 to 2020, as follows:

                Individual Category for Administratio

Best Senior PCO for Admin - PLTCOL JUDE T TACORDA

Best Junior PCO for Admin - PCPT JONALYN B MALN

Best Senior PNCO for Admin - PMSg Gilbert P Neype

Best Junior PNCO for Admin - PSSg Katherine L Diloy

Best Non Uniform Personnel - NUP Cyd Charisse B Iglesia 


Individual Category for Operations

Best Senior PCO for Operations - PLTCOL RAYMUND A TRAIN

Best Junior PCO for Operations - PMAJ RICSIL B DURAN

Best Senior PNCO for Operations - PMSg Saldon A Arajil

Best Junior PNCO for Operations - PSSg Ricky I Broniola


Unit Category

Best Office of the Year - Financial Management Division

Best Special Action Battalion of the Year - Rapid Deployment Battalion

Best Special Action Company of the Year - 12th Special Action Company of 1st Special Action Battalion

Best Team of the Year - Team 121st of 12th Special Action Company


Hon. Elegion A Malaluan, Municipal Mayor, Bongabong, Oriental Mindoro



Zamboanga Economic Zone

Hon. Mamintal Alonto Adiong Jr, Governor, Lanao del Sur

Hon. Ma. Angelica Rosedell M Amante-Matba, Congresswoman, 2nd District, Agusan del Norte

Public Safety Savings and Loans Association Inc.

Mr. Simon Su, President MSK Group Work Inc.

Sr. Sulpicia A Wate, O.P., School Directress, Claret School of Lamitan

Mrs. Susan C Walker, Philanthropist

US Department of State/Anti-Terrorism Assistance

Justin Germani, Regional Affairs, Department State, US Embassy

Nathaniel Bell, Regional Affairs, Department State, US Embassy

Benajmin Virtue, FBI, Legal Attache

Captain Rahul Singh, Special Forces Regiment, US Army

As part of SAF family, PGEN GAMBOA was also conferred the honorary UCRWC (Sureshock), Parachutist and Rigger’s badges by PMGEN EMPISO.

In his speech, PGEN GAMBOA recounted the sacrifices and difficulties that every police officer experience everyday especially amid this COVID-19 pandemic. Likewise, he congratulated SAF for its remarkable accomplishments throughout the years and said that he will be giving cash incentives to the awardees of this year’s anniversary.

The Chief, PNP also spearheaded the blessing of newly acquired SAF equipment through the SAF Capability Enhancement Program from GAA of 2017 and 2018 with a total cost of Php246,618,500.00 which include Heavy Troop Carriers, Command Vehicles, Tactical Vests and 60mm Ultralight Commando Mortars.

With the ongoing pandemic we are facing, traditional series of activities lined up for the anniversary were set aside such as the SAF Challenge, Capability and Skills Exhibits, Community Outreach activities, Bloodletting Activity, SAF Alumni Association Inc. (SAFAAI) 2nd General Assembly and the Tagaligtas Fellowship. /PIO, SAF